International conference Jointly Organised by
HRI, Prayagraj, India and TIFR-Hyderabad, India

Conference on Advances in Renewable Energy ( CARE-2023)

Electrochemical Energy Storage, Photovoltaic Technologies, & Hydrogen Energy
Venue: HRI, Prayagraj, India
February 2-4, 2023

According to the International Energy Agency, Paris (an Intergovernmental organization), 80% of today's energy demand is being met by fossil fuels only, which results in the emission of CO2 of the order of 30-35 Gt year-1. The escalating and alarming climate changes demand finding an alternative to the existing energy supply chain, which demands newer approaches in energy conversion and storage.

CARE-2023 aims to bring pioneering researchers from both academia (theory & experiment) and industry to a common platform to discuss such pressing issues on energy crisis, particularly related to hydrogen energy, advances in photovoltaics, and potential strategies in electrochemical energy storage. This three-day event being conducted during February 02-04, 2023 will discuss these topics. Each day will be devoted to one topic, and will aim to foster intense discussions among researchers on novel research strategies and formulating future energy policies. This platform will be of great value to India’s push towards green hydrogen generation, solar energy, and electric vehicle technologies.

The conference also encourages participation of young researchers as they will be provided with a chance to present their promising work in the form of poster presentation which will be assessed by a panel consisting of experts in each field.

Confirmed Speakers

  • (Day 1) Electrochemical Energy Storage: 2nd February 2023

    1. Prof. Sarbajit Banerjee, Texas A&M, USA
    2. Prof. Arumugam Manthiram, University of Texas, Austin
    3. Dr. Abhik Banerjee, TCG -RISE, India
    4. Prof. M. M. Shaijumon, IISER Thiruvananthapuram, India
    5. Prof. Satishchandra Ogale, TCG -RISE, India
    6. Prof. Jagjit Nanda, Director, SLAC-Stanford Battery Research Center, Stanford University, USA
    7. Prof. Naga Phani Aetukuri, IISc, Bangalore
    8. Prof. Dan T Major, Bar Ilan University, Israel
    9. Dr. Sathiya Mariyappan, CNRS, College de France, Paris
    10. Dr. R Gopalan, Regional Director, ARCI-Chennai, India

  • (Day 2) Photovoltaic Technologies 3rd February 2023

    1. Prof. Angshuman Nag, IISER- Pune
    2. Prof. D D Sarma, IISc, India
    3. Prof. Tsutomu Miyasaka, Toin University of Yokohama, Japan
    4. Prof. Ajay Kumar Jena, Toin University of Yokohama, Japan
    5. Prof. Ashish Garg, IIT Kanpur, India
    6. Prof. Priya Mahadevan, S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, India
    7. Prof Pabitra K. Nayak, TIFR-Hyderabad, India

  • (Day 3) Hydrogen Energy: 4th February 2023

    1. Prof. Vijayamohanan K. Pillai, IISER Tirupati, India
    2. Prof. Rajeev Ahuja, Uppsala university, Sweden/IIT Ropar
    3. Prof. Sebastian Peter, JNCASR
    4. Prof. Umesh Waghmare, JNCASR, Bangalore
    5. Prof. Arun Devaraj, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    6. Prof. David J Wales, University of Cambridge, UK
    7. Prof. Muhammed Musthafa, IISER Pune
    8. Dr. Chiranjib Majumdar, BARC Mumbai
    9. Dr. Kalyan Bhanja, BARC, India


The authors of the shortlisted abstracts are intimated via email. A few are listed in the waiting list, and those will be contacted after January 1st according to the availability of the space.

Important Dates:

  • Registration and Abstract Submission : Closed
  • Abstract Submission Deadline: 09th December 2022
  • Decision on the Submitted Abstract: 16th December 2022
  • Registration Fees Deadline: 01st January 2023

Note: The accepted abstracts will be allowed to present only upon the successful remittance of the registration fees and intimation of the same via There is no spot registration. Click here to download the Sample Abstract

Registration Fees:

  • There are no registration fees for the invited speakers

  • Students (Indian): 2500 (INR)
  • Students (Foreign ): $100

  • Faculty/Postdoctoral Fellows (India): 4000 (INR)
  • Faculty/Postdoctoral Fellows (Foreign): $150

  • Industry Personnel: 8000 (INR)

Note for participants:

The students/postdocs who intend to only attend the conference, should upload a pdf with a one-paragraph statement of current research interests and work done. A letter of recommendation from the advisor should be sent to . The registration fee is applicable to them too.

Participation of students/postdocs are subject to selection by the organizing committee given the logistical constraints.

Click here to Register


An Event Jointly Organized by Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI), Prayagraj (Allahabad), India and Tata Institute of Fundamental Research-Hyderabad (TIFR-H), India.

Organizing Committee

  • Prasenjit Sen (HRI, India)
  • Sudip Chakraborty (HRI, India)
  • Tharangattu N. Narayanan (TIFR-H, India)





  • +91-532-227 4307 (Prasenjit)
  • +91-532-227 4317 (Sudip)
  • +91-40-2020 3093 (TNN)

How to reach Prayagraj

By Air

Prayagraj (earlier Allahabad) has regular flights to many cities in India. These include the metro cities Mumbai, Delhi and Bangalore with international connections, and also smaller cities such as Pune, Bhubaneswar, Indore, Raipur, Lucknow, Dehradun etc.

By Train

Prayagraj Junction is a major junction with train connections to many cities. Please, check the IRCTC website ( for trains and seat availability. Note that in addition to the main junction, Prayagraj has other stations also such as Prayagraj Cheoki, Naini Junction, Prayag junction and Subedarganj. Your train may arrive at or depart from one of these.


Prior to your arrival, we will send you the details about your accommodation, and how to reach there.